guitar, cowbell and handclaps

One more note from me on summer music before we move on to project numero dos.

I moved to Minneapolis almost three years ago, just in time to fall for local band Hockey Night. I caught them one winter night at the Triple Rock and “For Guy’s Eyes Only” was in constant rotation after that. I loved it so much that the song ended up making its way on to the summer 2007 mix. But of course, the band broke up early in ’07, and I never had the chance to see them live again.

free_energy_700x390_jpg_595x325_crop_upscale_q85

But lucky for me, and you, a pair of former Hockey Night boys formed Free Energy and released “Dream City” on the interwebs a couple of months ago. The first time I heard the track I knew it would open this year’s mix. I mean, handclaps, na na na na’s and a sweet horn outro??? Yes, please, and thank you.  “Dream City” was followed by “Dark Trance” and “Free Energy.” In which there is some great guitar and cowbell, respectively. I don’t know if it can get much better than this. Summer in three little neat and tidy rock songs.

They’ll be releasing a full-length album (produced by James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem) later this year. Until then, keep their MySpace page open in a tab all day or download a couple tracks via stereogum. Or, even better, go catch them live.

Leave a Reply

