Objects: found

Today was treasure hunting day. We were all tasked with hitting up Axman and finding something for under $5 in under 30 minutes that we could use to create our typeface.

I spent $1.50 and was out in 20 minutes.

The nice bearded man at the counter tells me these things are some sort of wire terminals.

I picked them because I like fonts that have big circle-y type letters. And they’re metal and shiny and bendy.

wireterminals

Some other things I considered was free forming letters with a hot glue gun and these plastic dropper things with a really long spout. Good lord, Axman is weird.

The process actually went pretty smoothly. I played around with a few different ways of making letters.

b3

And I even made little rules about height and ways I could use that little nub thing on the end of the terminal. See, designers, I do pay attention when you guys tell me stuff.

Here’s a sneak peak at my sophisticated measuring process.

measure

And here’s a sneak peak at my letters. So far I’ve photographed A-R, but I think I might need to redo a few.

abc

ghi

Expect Peter’s and Clarissa’s versions later in the week, we’re spacing it out for suspense. Can you even stand it?

But really, I’m so excited to have my new font (eep!). Now, what the hell do I name this thing?

Comments
6 Responses to “Objects: found”
  1. Clarissa says:

    Lowercase g is my favorite letter. And yours is awesome. Especially the ear you have going on there.

  2. Daniel says:

    Super cool! Make some words for us to peep, plz.

  3. Michelle says:

    This is just a sneak peek. During the official peeping, there will be words just for you.

  4. Peter says:

    I thought the name was “eep!”. You’re off to a very sweet start and I agree with Clarissa, the g has got it. But it’s all looking great.

  5. Michelle says:

    Eep is what I say now instead of eek, because you told me I sounded like Cathy. Jerkface.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] writers who design by Michelle My first font is complete. I named it Terminal, because it’s made with tiny wire terminals from […]



Leave a Reply

