deep in the heart of texas

Armadillo. That was the first thing that came to mind when I started brainstorming ideas for what to draw for this month’s project. It’s tough and little and leathery. And above all, Texan. But ‘dillos aren’t really a part of the Texas I know, unless you count the old trolley bus that used to run through downtown Austin courtesy of the public transportation system.

So after talking to a few fellow Texans and nixing the idea of longhorns or cattle, I settled on bats. Austin is home to the largest urban bat colony in the country. More than 1.5 million Mexican free-tailed bats take flight from underneath the Congress Avenue Bridge downtown at sunset every summer. It’s pretty spectacular.

I started sketching just to get a handle on their shape and movement. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t drawing the Batman symbol over and over again, which is kinda how things started out.

I still haven’t figured out exactly what I’m going to do. I’ve tried doing some more abstract things, incorporating the bridge into my illustration and even playing with type within the shape. We’ll see what happens. I have a few more days to finalize everything before we screenprint this weekend.

Be on the lookout for Michelle and Peter’s progress soon…

Leave a Reply

